Kimi No Na Wa (Your Name | 2016)

Kimi No Na Wa (Your Name | 2016)

Original Post Date: 26 June 2017

knn1.jpg
Kimi no Na wa translated to Your Name in English is an Japanese animated film directed by Makato Shinkai. This movie broke multiple world records. After 15 years Kimi no Na wa replaced Studio Ghilbli’s Spirited Away by becoming the highest- grossing Anime film ever.
This movie tells a story between a two teenagers who magically swap bodies and communicate through their phones. Matsuha is the daughter of a mayor in a small town who dreams of living in the city. Taki a hard working student who lives in Tokyo inspires to become an architect or artist.
What completely amazed me was the beautiful animation and emotion driving soundtrack. Featured song Zense Zense Zense performed by RADWIMPS is a very energetic, light song which brings a smile to your face. The movie also had other amazing soundtracks like Sparkle and Nandemonyaia also
performed by RADWIMPS.
While watching the film I started to become confused which intrigued me even more as I haven’t seen a movie like this. How time travel can change every thing that happens in a persons life. Taki did everything he could to learn about the girl he saw in his dreams. Or was it a dream? What intrigued me was how time travel can affect a persons memory. In the end of the film what seemed to be a dream turned into a reality. The title of the film ‘Your Name’ definitely suits the storyline. This movie blew my mind away and I had so many thoughts rushing through my head.
knn2.jpg
I fell in love with all of Makato Shinkai’s films after watching this movie and I would recommend to definitely watch this astonishing movie. What I loved about this film is that Shinkai Makoto is known for using real life locations in films. Many settings in the film you can see today in Japan.
OV:5/5 R: Definitely Must Watch CG: 10+

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.