C-Dramas To Watch Oct 2018

C-Dramas To Watch Oct 2018

At the end of the year it is always the busiest time in the Drama world as multiple dramas are airing at once.

These are Chinese Dramas that I am currently watching or have had a look at this Month. This is not in any particular order.

This post reveals some spoilers

Warning: This post is quite long 

All Out of Love 

aofl2

Aired: 17 Sep – 22 Nov (currently airing)  Ep: 70  Cast: Wallace Chung , Sun Yi , Ray Ma

Sub Available on Viki

Liang Sheng and Jiang Sheng both become siblings one day due to an incident that happened in Jiang Sheng’s hometown. Although they are not related by blood they have a very close relationship and support each other in difficult circumstances. They both manage to get into their dream university but after a sudden car accident Liang Sheng left. Jiang Sheng becomes devastated and starts are complicated relationship with Cheng Tian You who falls deeply in love with her.

Although this drama has a lot of mixed reviews I personally enjoy watching it. This drama tends to go by a chronological method of starting with their younger selfs to their youth to their adulthood years. The drama explores the relationship between the siblings facing harsh challenges. I have always found the relationship between Liang Sheng and Jiang Sheng to be very interesting as it isn’t easy when you believe someone is your most loved sibling.

I have to admit that this drama does drag as it has 70 episodes in total. I am currently up to episode 40 and I can say that they keep repeating the same scenarios over and over again which can be very frustrating. I must say that this drama has an excellent cast. Although many Ray Ma fans are disappointed because he doesn’t get much screen time I must say that Wallace Chung is the lead actor in this drama and I prefer Cheng Tian You (Wallace Chung) as Jiang Sheng’s love interest over Liang Sheng (Ray Ma). Also I don’t understand why people are annoyed at Jiang Sheng for her actions when she hasn’t done anything wrong.

Although there are many problems with the drama for some reason I can’t stop watching it.

This drama isn’t for everyone but if you a very patient then I would advice you to give this drama a go as it is very aspiring.

An Oriental Odyssey

aoo1.jpg

Aired: 18 Oct – Nov 13 (currently airing)  Ep: 50  Cast: Janice Wu , Zheng Ye Cheng

Sub Available on Viki 

Set in the Tang Dynasty the clever eldest daughter of The Assistant Minister of Revenue, Ye Yu An An saves the strange and mysterious Mu Le. Yu An takes Mu Le in as a servant as he serves his loyalty to her. With Constable Zhan Lan Zhi the trio solves cases after cases together. But what is Mu Le’s secret identity?

I have only watched 4 episodes and so far I am loving this drama. When I found out Janice Wu is the lead actress I knew this would be promising. Zheng Ye Cheng is known for is role in Love 020 although I have seen the drama I didn’t pay much attention to his character so I didn’t recognize him.

I honestly love the spunky female lead and I am glad that I am seeing a lot more of these  female roles in Chinese dramas lately. Yu An is very clever and has been trained in Martial Arts from a young age. Seeing Zheng Ye Cheng take on a role of a animal like creature is very impressive. So far I believe that this has been written well and I must say this drama has great costumes and cinematography. It is a must watch so far as I am excited for what is to come.

If Paris Downcast 

ipdc2.jpg

Aired: Sep 22 – Nov 11 (Currently Airing)  Ep: 48  Cast: Hans Zhang  , Adi Kan

Ruan Man Jun is a lawyer who is betrayed by her ex-boyfriend by being framed into committing perjury which cause her to revoke her lawyer license and to be put in jail. After her sentence in France is complete she later learns that her boyfriend is getting married to someone else. During harsh times in her life she encounters Tong Zhuo Yao who also bears a dark past. Tong Zhuo Yao is at first harsh to Ruan Man Jun but after dealing with misunderstanding he wants to help Ruan Man Jun but Ruan Man Jun being stubborn want to stand  on her two feet.

I am currently up to episode 32 and what I can say is – wow what a ride. This drama is a bit slow paced at first but it suddenly gets really intense and you start to notice the chemistry between the leads after episode 11.  This drama is one of those love stories where the leads will continuously be going on and off again due to the harsh circumstances. To be honest I have become sick of these kind of melodramas but I feel like this melodrama is different compared to the others as this drama does have likable characters.

I honestly like the 2nd lead and I always feel bad for him. Ruan Man Jun *tries* to continuously stand up for herself which I enjoy as she isn’t always the stereotypical dumb helpless character although she does have her moments.

ipdc2.PNG

I will probably watch this drama till the end.

The Eternal Love 2 

tel2.jpg

Aired: 22 Oct – 10 Dec (Currently airing) Ep: 30 Cast: Xing Zhao Lin  , Liang Jie

Sub Available on Viki 

Mo Lian Cheng met Qu Xiao Tan once again. At this time, however, Qu Xiao Tan has not met Mo Lian Cheng yet and does not know about her future destiny. Mo Lian Cheng has retained all of the memories and suffers alone from Qu Xiao Tan’s failure to know him. He silently loves Qu Xiao Tan, and it becomes his goal to make her fall in love with him once again. (MyDramaList)

This is a Time Travel / Time Line Drama. Please watch Season 1 before watching Season 2

After the huge anticipation for The Eternal Love 2 it is has finally aired and it is not a disappointment which is rare in Chinese drama sequels. The budget for this drama has increased massively as you can see the higher production value as well as beautiful costumes and cinematography.

As someone who enjoyed the first season I can say I am enjoying the sequel and so glad that it’s not a flop. I love how creative the screen writers are in with this drama as it is the same screen writers , producers , actors from the previous season except the director is different. Keeping the same staff from the first season was an excellent choice which is what I believe is what is making the sequel a huge success.

You can also see a massive improvement in the actors when is comes to their acting ability. Not just the leads but the whole cast as many of these actors a very talented Rookies and some of these actors made their acting debut on The Eternal Love. I am personally are fan of Time Travel / Time Line Dramas cause I love the theories and made up stories behind them. I love how in The Eternal Love 2 they will give us explanations of the events that are taking place. So far I am very much enjoying the sequel and would recommend people to watch it.

Avenue X’s First Impressions Review

2 Other Dramas I would have added to the List 

Ruyi’s Royal Love in the Palace

Although this drama came out in August and just finished airing I am only up to ep 20 something. I enjoy watching the drama but I don’t know if I should continue.

Fights Break Sphere 

I am a fan of the lead actor and so far I have watched 2 episodes but I am not sure if I should continue although I do enjoy it so far. This drama has a lot of positive feedback but I just don’t know if it’s the type of drama for me. It’s giving me Legend of Chusen / Noble Aspiration vibes I tried to watch that drama about 5 times but eventually dropped it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.